# Directors' profiles

### **EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS**



Stuart Queen (49) CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER BCompt (Hons), CA (SA)

Stuart was appointed to the board on 21 June 2013. Prior to that he was chief executive officer of Seardel Investment Corporation Limited and chief financial officer of Johnnic Holdings Limited. He is a member of the executive and risk committees.



Gys Wege (47) CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER BCompt (Hons), CA (SA)

Gys was appointed to the board as financial director on 21 June 2013. Prior to joining the board he served in various senior financial roles within the automotive logistics industry and was financial director of Seardel Investment Corporation Limited. He is a member of the executive, risk and social and ethics committees.

### NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS



John Copelyn (71) CHAIRPERSON BA (Hons), BProc

Johnny was appointed to the board on 10 October 2014. He joined Hosken Consolidated Investments Limited ("HCI") as chief executive officer in 1997. Prior to this he was a member of Parliament and general secretary of the Southern African Clothing and Textile Workers' Union ("SACTWU"). He is chairperson of Tsogo Sun Gaming, Tsogo Sun Hotels and eMedia Holdings Limited. He is a member of the remuneration committee.



Dave Duncan (66)

Dave was appointed to the board on 10 October 2014 as chief operating officer. Dave retired as COO in December 2020 and now sits on the board as a non-executive director. His career includes more than 30 years' experience in the manufacturing sector.



Kevin Govender (50) **BCompt (Hons)** 

Kevin was appointed to the board on 10 October 2014. He joined HCl in 1997 and holds various directorships within the HCl group of companies, including eMedia Holdings Limited and Hosken Passenger Logistics and Rail Limited ("HPL&R"). He is a trustee of the HCl Foundation.



Yunis Shaik (63)

Yunis was appointed to the board on 10 October 2014. He is an executive director of HCI. Prior to his appointment at HCI Yunis was an attorney of the High Court and served as an acting judge in the Labour Court. He is a former deputy general secretary of SACTWU and served as a senior commissioner to the Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration in KwaZulu-Natal. He is also a director of Tsogo Sun Gaming and chairperson of HPL&R.

## Directors' profiles (continued)

### INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS



Naziema Jappie (61) BSocSc (Hons), MSocSc (specialising in Industrial and Labour Studies), PGDip (HE), Honorary Consul for the Republic of Maldives

Naziema was appointed to the board on 10 October 2014 and brings with her a distinguished and varied background in fields including higher education, labour law, conflict resolution, and performance and project management. Ms Jappie has served as the Southern African Clothing and Textile Workers' Union's National Education Officer, executive director at the Durban University of Technology and dean of students at the University of the Witwatersrand. She is currently employed as director for the Centre for Educational Assessments and is deputy dean in the Faculty of CHED at the University of Cape Town. She is also a non-executive director of HPL&R and a board member of the Cape Chamber of Commerce and Industry. She is a member of the audit, risk, social and ethics and remuneration committees.



Koktsi Faith Mahloma (Faith) (68)

Faith was appointed to the board on 20 May 2019. She served as a senior shop steward for 20 years until 2001; as an executive member of COSATU and vice president of SACTWU from 1987 to 2001; and as an executive member of the National Economic Development and Labour Council from 1997 to 2001. She has served as a director of Zenzeleni Clothing Proprietary Limited and HPL&R, a member of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee and the Germiston Pension Fund Committee. She resigned as a ward councillor in 2016 after serving for 10 years. She is a member of the audit, risk, social and ethics committees.

### Mohamed Ahmed (56) **BCompt**

Mohamed was appointed to the board and as lead independent non-executive director on 10 October 2014. He is a director of Montauk Holdings Limited, Hospitality Property Fund, HCl and Tsogo Sun Hotels Limited and previously held directorships in Seardel Investment Corporation Limited, MTN and Real Africa Holdings. He is the chairperson of the audit, risk, social and ethics and remuneration committees.